Shedding Skin & Opportunity Knocks

This fall, I decided to take two classes to assess whether or not I’d like to return to school.  After much thought, I decided that no, I do not wish to return to school.  After having made this decision and taking my mental (and therefore physical) health into consideration, I dropped one of the two classes.

Two days ago as I was walking to my one remaining class, I was thinking about how I felt like such a quitter and that really I should have been able to handle both classes. Suddenly, right ahead of me in the middle of the sidewalk was a snake!  Maybe a foot and a half long water snake.  I am really interested in animal symbolism, and I like to use animal sightings much the same way I hope to use tarot: when I am feeling the need for guidance or for getting out of my own head, I look up what my animal encounters might mean for me.  Snakes can symbolize renewal, rebirth, transformation, and healing.  I immediately felt better about my decision to move in a new direction (or to back out of the direction I thought I needed to go in earlier in the year).

Early-Vintage-Snake-Image-2-GraphicsFairy

Then today, as I was sitting in my living room, I heard a loud knocking sound coming from the office.  I was worried something was wrong with my cat, so I rushed in there and it sounded like it was coming from the other side of the wall above the window.  I went back to the living room and peered through the porch door blinds just in time to see the woodpecker knock out a few more times and then fly away.  Woodpeckers can bring to mind the saying, “When opportunity knocks, answer the door,” and they can also represent finding value where others do not (e.g. in dead trees).  I have the opportunity to choose a new path for myself not based on what others think I ought to do and to value this path (my own path), even when it is not something that is traditionally valued by others.

Downy_Woodpecker_(1)

These animal messengers have left me feeling very optimistic and confident!

Leave a Reply

