Elements & Aces

Today I’ll be exploring a few lessons from The Alternative Tarot Course by Beth of Little Red Tarot. I’m thinking about the elements, the aces, and how I can connect these things to my own life.

Pentacles

Ace of Pentacles
Ace of Pentacles, Efflorescent Tarot

Pentacles are the suit of our material lives. Things like home, money, health, work, bodies, sex, and nature. Pentacles also represent the element of earth.

Ace of Pentacles opportunity: I’ve recently been able to quit my job, and I have the opportunity to nurture my home and health. I can vacuum and wash dishes and do yoga and walk in nature and craft. In general, I’ll be a better partner. And I’m pretty darn excited about all of these things!

Pentacle & Earth Parts of Me: I love being in nature, and I love animals.

Room for Improvement or Balance: I’m not always very in tune with my body or very good at taking care of it.

Wands

Ace of Wands
Ace of Wands, Efflorescent Tarot

Wands are the suit of our inner fire. Things like “ideas, projects, creativity, beginnings, inspiration… the things which motivate us, excite us and drive us forwards.” Wands also represent the element of fire.

Ace of Wands opportunity: Pretty much everything I’m doing right now feels wand-y. I’m full of inspiration on my new life path! I’ll get back to writing my novel which I’ve neglected for months now. I’m learning tarot which is really fun so far (and really helpful too). I have my whole life ahead of me, and I feel for the first time like I really am the author of my own life.

Wand & Fire Parts of Me: I can be really creative. I am passionate and driven. Sometimes I’m adventurous.

Room for Improvement or Balance: Trust my creative self more.

Cups

Ace of Cups
Ace of Cups, Efflorescent Tarot

Cups are the suit of our emotional and spiritual selves. Things like “love, connection, sadness, spirituality/religion, soulfulness, artistic creativity.” Cups also represent the element of water.

Ace of Cups opportunity: Since I am able to stay at home now, I will be able to dedicate much more time to caring more for my mental/emotional health. I’ve been struggling a lot lately, and I’m looking forward to caring for myself. Which will make me better able to connect with others.

Cup & Water Parts of Me: I am compassionate. I have depression, anxiety, and c-ptsd, so my emotions are out of whack at times. I feel things deeply. I love animals freely and people cautiously.

Room for Improvement or Balance: Emotional stability, trusting others.

Swords

Ace of Swords
Ace of Swords, Efflorescent Tarot

Swords are the suit of our intellectual selves. Things like “knowledge, truth, justice, strategy, communication, obsession.” Swords also represent the element of air.

Ace of Swords opportunity: I am now able to try building my intellect in new areas. I have primarily focused on formal education — I’ve loved school since the first day of kindergarten! But I’m looking for fulfillment and satisfaction elsewhere. And I can use my smarts to learn skills associated with the other suits/elements: crafting, communicating, writing, creating. It will be a new adventure for my thinking brain 🙂

Sword & Air Parts of Me: I am hardcore analytical and very intelligent (in a sword-y kind of way … the rest, not so much). I have an obsessive personality.

Room for Improvement or Balance: Don’t think so darn much. Feel and go with the flow.

Overall Reflection

I think that at this moment in time, Wands/fire are my biggest strength. I just need to trust myself to use those parts of myself. While I’m “best” at what the Swords represent, I’m overly dependent on my mind and need to cultivate my others traits and care for my body and heart. A better balance is what I’m working toward.

In my daily draws and readings now, I’ll try to take note of the elements at play and take them into consideration in my reflections.

4 thoughts on “Elements & Aces

  1. You know, upon reading this, it seems like it’s a great idea to go through these elements and how they are at play in our lives regularly, maybe every couple of months. It looks like a great way to double-check that we’re going where we want to be going. Thanks for blogging about it so I can get that inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

