Daily: Eight of Wands

8 of Wands
Efflorescent Tarot

Today’s card is the Eight of Wands.

Initial Impressions:

Eight sharpened wands look like they’re coming down from the sky. A road leads to a town in the distance on a hill or mountain. A cloud “mountain” towers over the town. It feels somewhat aggressive or ominous. While there are green leaves on the sharpened wands, the landscape is all gray.

Huszka’s Eight of Wands looks quite different. A woman in a yellow dress appears to float midair while smiling. A blue person covered in stars holds one of the floating woman’s legs. A blue wolf or dog and a green, blindfolded head are behind the floating woman. Green branches seem to come out of the green head’s mouth. A small ladder sits on the foot of the blue starry person. There might be a road and some buildings in the center of the card. I have no idea what it all means! But it seems much less ominous than the Efflorescent Tarot card.

The jaguar and the black mamba snake repeat the ominous feeling, the snake more so than the jaguar. Perhaps this card could be about impending danger?

8 of Wands
Gypsy Palace Tarot

Reflection After Research

This card is about action. Maybe I would have guessed closer to this if I’d remembered to take the suit into consideration šŸ™‚

A project or relationship may be reaching some sort of conclusion. Benebell Wen’sĀ Holistic Tarot says, “Air meets Fire here” (140). Thoughts materialize into physical action. Paul Quinn’sĀ Tarot for Life says that even though there is rapid action, it is ordered, as symbolized by the neatly spaced wands shooting in the same direction together. Unlike the Five of Wands, where they are all held by separate people and come together in chaos and conflict.

8 of Wands - animals
Animal Wisdom Tarot, Animism Tarot

Jaguar says to think before pouncing and to trust our power while Black Mamba says it’s time to act now, no time for thinking. Both may be able to encompass the concept of decisiveness. We also need to make sure that our action is directional, like the wands in the card. If we are aimless, we may regret our action.

Today, the Eight of Wands might say to me, “You’ve been thinking about communicating your feelings to this person for some time. Now is the time to do so.”

Part of the reason I think this is what the Eight of Wands might be saying is that before drawing the Eight of Wands, I drew first The Lovers and then the Three of Cups. Since I’ve examined both of them so recently, I kept drawing until I reached a new card — the Eight of Wands.

Drawn Cards
Efflorescent Tarot

The Lovers speak of connection, and the Three of Cups speaks to family and joy. I am still really, really struggling with what happened two weekends ago. I haven’t been sure whether to discuss this with the one particular person I am upset with or to try and process and “get over it” on my own. I’ve tried for over a week now to come to peace with it by myself, but this isn’t working. I’ve thought on my own, and I’ve thought about communicating. Maybe this impromptu reading says, “Yes, it’s time for communication. It’s time to take action. Passivity is not fixing the situation. Foster the connection, get back to joy.”

2 thoughts on “Daily: Eight of Wands

  1. I really like that you incorporated the two previous draws into the interpretation. This has been happening with me a lot lately, where I draw a card I’ve already drawn and been unsure whether to draw again seen as I am also still learning and would prefer a new card to write about :). Some days I decide not to draw again and don’t write a post for the repeated card, but others, like today and yesterday where I drew Strength first and then drew again, I try to see the first cards influence on the second. You’ve done that really well here and I hope if you decided to communicate that all went well šŸ™‚ xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

