Full Moon Reflection

Moon & Self cropThis is the first of my Full Moon Reflection posts. I plan to reflect on my progress in each elemental area of the tarot on each full moon. This gives me the chance to regularly check in with myself to see how I am doing and whether I am well-balanced or need work in a particular area.

EARTH (PENTACLES)

Two days ago I went on a nice walk on the trail. I saw a bluejay, a tiny snake, some ducks, a heron, and some Canada geese. The geese flew right overhead pretty low, and we could hear their wings beating the air. I’ve been depressed and inactive, so this was a great way to get my body moving and to reconnect with nature and remind myself how beautiful the world can be. The moon was low on the horizon, and it was quite lovely.

I think I’d like to go sit out on the trail one of these days with my camera and see what kinds of beauty I can capture.

I’ve been eating slightly better, and I’ve been slightly more active. So room for improvement there, but I have a baby-sized start.

FIRE (WANDS)

I am really driven right now to study tarot, and I’m enjoying every second of it.

I’m also driven to get the elemental parts of myself in balance, and I think I’m starting off on a good foot. Instead of over-analyzing everything, I am beginning to frame my life in terms of these elemental energies and taking them into consideration throughout the day. I’m in the process of making this a habit, which is a big step to real change in how I approach the world.

WATER (CUPS)

This weekend was an anniversary for my sweetheart and me, so it was a wonderful opportunity for a “staycation.” We hadn’t realized how long it had been since we’d stayed put and relaxed on a weekend. It was a real boost for my spirit and emotions. As was all the yummy food we made, which could be an earth element, but it sure fed my soul too 🙂

In dealing with my trigger from a couple of weekends ago, I’m more of an emotional wreck. At the same time, I’m not having nearly as many physical symptoms that usually accompany my stress. So maybe I’m handling it better than usual.

AIR (SWORDS)

This is the element I’m trying to reign in a bit. Of course I’ve been doing my schoolwork, but I’ve been doing a pretty good job at letting my mind rest at other times. I am overthinking my communication regarding my trigger, but not nearly as much as I have in the past. I am stressed about it, but I’m not obsessively thinking about it every waking moment, which is usually something I’m pretty good at. So I’ll call this a win for now.

OVERALL

I’m better balanced than I have been in a long time, and there’s still plenty of work to do. But I’m off to a good start!

2 thoughts on “Full Moon Reflection

Leave a Reply

