Reading: Strength

Reading 2015, Nov 14
Animism Tarot, A Reading for Strength from Rachel Pollack’s The New Tarot Handbook

Position One: How am I strong?

The High Priestess

I am strong at taking quiet time to retreat from the world and allow inner contemplation and exploration of my unconscious.

Position Two: How am I weak?

Three of Pentacles

I am weak at allowing others to join me and help me on my journey. I can often be too fiercely independent.

Position Three: When do I need to be strong?

Queen of Pentacles

This card keeps coming to me in positions of encouragement! I need to be strong in being a part of and taking pleasure in the world around me. Balance my High Priestess strength with the Queen of Pentacles.

Position Four: When do I need to be weak?

Seven of Wands

I need to be weak at being defensive. My defense mechanisms are often impressively overactive. Like the little hedgehogs in this depiction, I see a large and scary shadow coming my way, and my spikes go right up. But maybe the shadow is deceiving.

Position Five: What strengthens me?

Six of Swords

I am strengthened by the journey I am on away from the person I used to be and toward a healthier and happier me. As I reach different milestones, they give me the strength to keep going and remind me that change is possible. “Old” me will always be a part of me, but I can bandage her wounds, feel compassion for her, and bring her along on the journey.

Position Six: What weakens me?

The Star

This is the first time I’ve ever encountered the Star. I think perhaps what would fit here is the shadow of the Star: sometimes I can become disheartened and upset when my ideal outcome doesn’t occur. Of course, this is pretty often because such is life. This idealism weakens me by making it difficult to go with the flow. Or a reverse meaning: pessimism. When my depression starts to get the upper hand it’s awfully hard to see the stars shining.

Leave a Reply

