Reading: The Hermit

Reading 2015, Nov 15
Gypsy Palace Tarot, A Reading for the Hermit from Rachel Pollack’s The New Tarot Handbook

Position One: What do I need to do on my own?

Five of Swords

This is the first time I’ve examined the Five of Swords, and I really like Huszka’s portrayal. I have a wall built up around myself, and rather than just cowering behind it, I think I can sometimes go on the “offensive” and appear mean so that I won’t be hurt. The two women in front of the wall are not very welcoming. They stare out at the viewer in a harsh and condescending way seeming to say, “Keep moving, this place isn’t for you.” WhileΒ thereΒ is a small doorway in the wall, who wants to get on their hands and knees and crawl through there under the hateful gaze of these women? These women may feel victorious in protecting whatever lies behind the wall, but at what cost?

However, a snake raises its head up from behind the wall. Snakes can symbolize rebirth, so it seems like a hopeful element in the card. I have to decide on my own to let these walls down. I can accept the help and support of my loved ones, but only I can choose to dismantle my defensive walls.

Position Two: What or who is my teacher?

Justice

Like the Hermit, Justice also asks us to look honestly at our own lives. Truth, fairness, and justice are indeed my teachers, and they encourage me to reinstate balanceΒ in my life.

Position Three: Where will I find my light?

The Chariot

I think I will find my light in working on a Chariot-like balance in my life. The Chariot’s sense of balance is very conscious and will-based, but I have to practice this kind of balance before I can reach a more “natural” feeling, integrated sort of balance.

Position Four: What will it reveal?

Two of Pentacles

Well, balance! There may be ups and downs, and I may waver, but it will reveal balance.

Position Five: What question does the Hermit want me to ask?

The Fool

Maybe the Hermit is asking, “Where’s you inner Fool? Let’s find her!”

Leave a Reply

