Reading: The Hanged Man

Reading 2015, Nov 22
Animism Tarot, A Reading for The Hanged Man from Rachel Pollack’s The New Tarot Handbook

Position One: How am I different from the people around me?

The World

This is a really tough card in this position for me, but I’ll do my best after consulting all my books. I think I am more aware of the interconnectedness of all things, I have high hopes and goals, and I am (or try to be) very aware of my unconscious. However, unlike the World, I am not able to transcend the dualities that make up life. The people around me I think are less self-aware, but in being less caught up in trying to balance pieces of themselves, they transcend those issues.

Position Two: What are my deep values?

Six of Cups

The Animal Wisdom Tarot sums up some of my deep values well: “practice giving and receiving; celebrate togetherness; choose peace. … find pleasure in simply joys” (59).

Position Three: What brings me pain?

Seven of Cups

This card can symbolize imagination and daydreams. I am brought pain at times when my fantasies do not materialize into reality.

Position Four: What brings me joy?

Six of Pentacles

Equality, respect, and fairness. I try my best to always consider others’ feelings before speaking and acting, and it makes me really happy when I can tell someone has paid me the same respect. In Joanna’s depiction of the alligator and plover in the Animism Tarot, she says, “Life is a journey of give and take, and when they work as one, they both come out richer.” I agree πŸ™‚

Position Five: What can I discover?

Nine of Cups

There are a wide array of interpretations of this card in my different books and little white books. One of these is enjoying the pleasures of life. I can discover how to live out my deep values of enjoying earthly pleasures. By embracing my imagination but accepting that not all I hope will come true, and through loving respect, my values can come to fruition.

The Hanged Man is a temporary state, so this spread reminds me that while there may be a pause needed before change can occur, I do have to move forward and put my plan into action at some point!

Leave a Reply

