Reading: The Moon

Reading 2015, Dec 3
Gypsy Palace Tarot, A Reading for the Moon from Rachel Pollack’s The New Tarot Handbook

Position One: What phase of the moon am I in — waxing, full, or waning?

The World

When I first read this question I was really worried about how to read waxing, full, or waning from a card. But the World clearly says full!

Position Two: What benefits does it bring me?

The Moon

It should give me the power and light necessary to explore the mysterious world of my unconscious during this new time in my life.

Position Three: How does it challenge me?

Two of Cups

As I’ve spoken of before, giving freely in love is a new and challenging experience. But the metaphor of a full moon certainly describes where I’m at as far as being ready to really give it a go. So it’s a challenge, but one I’m up for.

Position Four: How can I meet the challenge?

Eight of Cups

By leaving behind my carefully constructed walls and assumptions about the world and how love works (or doesn’t). The Eight of Cups acknowledges that it’s not the world’s easiest choice, but the choice is made and I am moving forward.

Position Five: What will come next?

Three of Swords

Go away, Three of Swords! I’m tired of seeing you! And what are you doing in this position?

Huszka’s little white book frames this as a card of letting go. While I am using logic to overcome my deeply emotional fears regarding relationships, it doesn’t mean it will be a painless transition. So perhaps this is a reminder that a new direction won’t automatically make it all sunshine and rainbows. There will be discomfort and possibly pain. This card also features a moon. So in this position I read that as deception. Any pain that comes will likely result from the irrational beliefs that I hold, so when it happens I should stop and examine the pain and the beliefs behind the pain.

 

7 thoughts on “Reading: The Moon

  1. Beautiful reading! I like how you read the three of Swords for that position. Also, the book is amazing and I’ve tried a couple of spreads myself with interesting results and outcomes. I just love tarot for the ability it gives us to have conversations with ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You are so very welcome! I am glad you found something that helps you.

        Truthfully, me too. I was at a point in my life when I needed it, because I used to rarely talk to and listen to myself. And now, because I discovered and started to use Tarot and Oracle decks, I cannot imagine my life without them. I also have no problem consulting with myself now, even without the use of the cards. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. They are interesting and a little different to use, but very lovely and loving in general. Also less structured and you can use intuition more with them. Are you in the States of Canada?

        Like

Leave a Reply

