The Lenten Season

Tomorrow begins the Lenten season of 2016. I was raised in the Christian tradition, and I have always felt a sense of reverence toward this time of year. A yearly time set aside that makes me examine myself and what I have and to deeply consider how I am connected to others. I do try to be cognizant of these things throughout the year, but I’m not as good at it as I’d like to be. This season stops me wherever I’m at mentally and immerses me in a mindset of thankfulness, charity, compassion, and sacrifice (which I see as another side of the thankfulness coin). It’s a beautiful time to do some serious self-work. And since I have family that also celebrates Lent, it’s easy during this time to stay focused on the work at hand.

I decided to create a spread for Lent to help me on my journey and to help me decide what to give up and/or to take on during this season. (I’m using the Smith-Waite Centennial Edition, which I am in love with! But more on that later.)

Reading 2016, Feb 9
Smith-Waite Tarot Centennial Edition

Position One: What to give up

Reading 2016, Feb 9 (2)
Prisma Visions Tarot

Five of Cups

I’ve been in mourning for some time about a situation that crushed up my little heart. Perhaps it’s time to begin letting those three spilled cups go. Actually, in the Prisma Visions Tarot depiction of the Five of Chalices, a figure drops three cups off a precipice into the water below. AnΒ active release of these three cups. It may not have been an easy decision or process, but those three cups must go. Healing will take time, but I think I might be ready to begin taking my first steps away from the sadness and grief I have felt.

Position Two: What to create or add

The Fool

Ah, the Fool! I admit I smiled when this card popped up in this position. The Fool is something I’d like a lot more of in my life. I’m serious and planning three steps ahead and always thinking. I like that the Fool is here in the “what to create or add” position. So rather than “giving up” being thoughtful or responsible, I canΒ add silliness and wonder, delight and intuition. That doesn’t sound so bad. It doesn’t sound easy for my personality, but it certainly sounds worthwhile. Add some Foolishness!

Position Three: What to grow

Two of Pentacles

Balance in my world. I’ve been making progress, but I’ve been in a rough patch for a little while. Seeking this balance has kept this rough patch from getting even worse or messier than it already is. Like the juggler in the card, I can either make it a game I dedicate myself to, or like the boats in the background I can pray I don’t go under with the next crash of a wave. Life will have its ups and downs either way, but I’m only in control in one of those scenarios. Or consciously controlling what I am able to, anyway.

Little note

Β I happened to turn my deck over when putting it away, and guess what the shadow card was? The Nine of Wands! Of course it was.

3 thoughts on “The Lenten Season

  1. Oh! I like the active releasing that seems to be happening in the Prisma Visions 5 of Chalices too!

    One of the things that often comes to mind for me with the RWS 5 of Cups, is that the fellow in the image is so focused on those three spilt cups that he’s completely forgotten that he’s still got two full ones right behind him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

